Tan Sri Dr Zeti Akhtar Aziz

In conjunction with The Royal Award for Islamic Finance 10th year anniversary in 2020, we are pleased to issue a series of RAIF commemorative booklets featuring past recipients’ achievements and significant contributions to the global Islamic finance industry. We are proud to publish the inaugural booklet starting with our most recent recipient, the distinguished Tan Sri Dr Zeti Akhtar Aziz.

Professor Datuk Rifaat Ahmed Abdel Karim

Professor Datuk Rifaat Ahmed Abdel Karim, 4th Recipient of the The Royal Award for Islamic Finance – A Collection of Speeches and Public Lectures in Conjunction with the Royal Award 10th Year Anniversary

Dato’ Dr. Abdul Halim Ismail

Dato’ Dr. Abdul Halim, the first Malaysian to receive this Award is recognised for his pivotal role in establishing the organisational structure and operating procedures of the first Islamic bank in Malaysia in 1983.

Iqbal Khan

Iqbal Khan – 2nd Recipient of The Royal Award for Islamic Finance. An Islamic banker, investment professional and one of the names most closely associated with the development of the Islamic financial services industry. He has helped to establish and to develop some of the industry’s signature institutions and products, and has simultaneously pushed for both mainstream acceptance and innovation.

The Late Shaikh Saleh Abdullah Kamel

The Late Shaikh Saleh Abdullah Kamel’s work over four decades has fast-tracked the global adoption of Islamic finance and continues to have sustained financial, economic and social impact in the world. He is widely credited for pioneering the adoption of Shariah-compliant principles in banking and business. In the absence of Islamic finance at the time, his deep personal adherence to Islamic principles led him to be one of the first individuals to devise Islamic contracts for use in his business operations in the 1960s.